Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Nanking

The of is an ecclesiastical territory or diocese of the Roman Catholic Church in China. It was erected as the of Nanking in 1659 by Pope Alexander VII, and promoted to a diocese by Pope Alexander VII on April 10, 1690. However, the diocese was demoted to the Apostolic Vicariate of Kiangnan on January 21, 1856 by Pope Pius IX, and its name was later changed to the Apostolic Vicariate of Kiangsu on August 8, 1921 and to the Vicariate Apostolic of Nanking on May 1, 1922. Pope Pius XII elevated it on April 11, 1946 to the rank of a , with the of , , , and .

The archdiocese's and thus seat of its archbishop is the also known as the Shigu Road church. There has been no Archbishop of Nanking since the death of on August 16, 1978, because of the irregular relationships between the and the Holy See.

List of of Nanking

*Ignace Cotolendi
*Gregory Luo Wen-zao,
*Cayetano Pires Pireira,
*André-Pierre Borgniet,
*Adrien-Hyppolyte Languillat,
*Valentin Garnier,
*Jean-Baptiste Simon,
*Próspero París,
*Auguste Haouisée,
*Paul Yü Pin

No comments: